Skip to content

A winter day Potato Soup

November 26, 2010

Somehow, I survived the snow- apocalypse.

I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have made it if the rain had not started and melted most of it away.

I’ve never been so happy for rain in the middle of the winter, rainy season. And, that’s saying something given it rains 80% of the time from November to March around here.

With my evening plans cancelled and no new tv shows airing, what else was there to do but drink wine and eat?


And, you know, whip up a pot of Homemade Potato Bacon Soup

Adapted from years of eating my mom’s homemade soup… at this point, I have no idea what the original recipe or measurements are and I’m probably missing some important herb or spice.


What you need: 6 medium sized potatoes, diced & boiled; 1 diced white onion; 2 grated carrots (optional); diced bacon; 1 tetra pack of vegetable broth, 1/2c  milk of your choice; garlic, salt & pepper.

As you can tell, I’m super strict with the measurements here ;)

2010-11-17.jpg

In one pot, boil diced potatoes until cooked..

In another pot, (I’ve been using my dutch oven, I never knew you could be in love with a  cooking pot, but I am), cook your bacon. When bacon is almost to your desired crispness (because I know everyone is picky about their bacon), add onions, garlic, salt and pepper, and carrots (if you’re adding them. 90% of the time, I don’t have carrots in my house!), Cook until tender. Add cooked potatoes and mix well. Add broth, and if you’re feeling a little spicy, add a dash of cayenne pepper, and simmer for 10 minutes.

At this point, I pull out my potato masher and make one round of the pot, using my masher, and getting the potatoes into smaller pieces. Then I transfer 2/3’s of the mixture to my food processor and blend. While it’s blending, I add the 1/2c  of milk. I’ve been using rice milk, and it works fine. Transfer the blended soup back to the pot , mix and simmer a few more minutes.

This soup is so good, but it’s even better when it’s delivered to your house, in tupperware containers with a “Love, Mom” post it note.

I’m not sure the soup would last the long ferry ride over from the island, so I guess I just have to make it myself.

While you eat dinner, do some online shopping for winter boots because ballet flats just won’t do. Trust me on this.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 7:26 am

    please send some to NY.
    actually. no. come here. and bring soup.
    k? thanx

  2. hiker chick permalink
    November 27, 2010 9:43 am

    This sounds yummy….might actually have to put on an apron and become domesticated and try it out!!! :)

  3. November 28, 2010 1:13 am

    I will try the recipe because it sounds wonderful. The snow sounds equally wonderful because I have been living in the middle of a desert for the past 11 years. I always had the four seasons growing up, with it’s share of snow days. Let me know if you want to do a Kate Winslet/Cameron Diaz “The Holiday” swap. Just don’t be allergic to cats.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

