Skip to content

5 month review

November 29, 2010

This weekend I was asked, “So what have you been up too since moving here?”, and without taking a moment think about, I replied, “Not much, nothing too exciting…”
 
Hours later, as I loaded up the remaining dishes into the dishwasher, I started thinking about the past 5 months, and, um, perhaps I should have given some actual thought to the question before replying. So, here is what i should have said:
 
(Oh, and this list doesn’t include moving to a new city, starting a new job, apartment hunting, and the actual moving of belongings… you know, the boring things….)
 
- Whitecaps soccer game
- Michael Buble concert
- 5 trips to the States
- IDS Design West Show
- 5 trips to Home Depot
- 4 trips back to Victoria
- Vancouver Canucks game
- 3 BBQs
- Getting my car towed
- 1 snow (half) day
- 2 hair cuts (they count as it takes hours to get my hair done!)
- Richmond Night Market
- 40 trips to Costco (not sure if that’s totally accurate, it feels more like 1,000)
- Cirque du Soleil “Allegria”
- One month of Outdoor Bootcamp
- Dinner at Vij’s
- 12 trips to Ikea
- Science World’s “Body Worlds and the Brain”
- 2 10th Anniversary parties (apparently 2000 was a popular year to get married?)
- Granville Island Public Market (times 3)
- PNE!
- Hosted 4 dinner parties in one month (um, seriously, WHAT was I thinking?!)
- 2 interviews
- 2 group picnics
 
 
And, that’s only the things I wrote down in my calendar. I’m sure I’m missing about 47 other events like random parties (there were a couple of those), hours spent baking and cooking (I can’t even imagine the total hours there), restaurant visits, hundreds of cover letters written, afternoons spent meandering around new neighbourhoods…
 
Ok, I’m kind of exhausted just reading that list.
 
I think I’m going to take a nap.
 
But first,  I’ll  eat some more (smushed) cookies….

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 12:38 pm

    Do you ever come to Seattle? Let me know if you do!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

