Skip to content

Interviewing in the rain

November 30, 2010

Today I had an interview, I prepped answers to commonly asked questions (why do you want to work here? Tell us about a time where a conflict arose and how did you deal with that conflict? and the other 1,001 behavioural interview questions of fun), I didn’t hit snooze once. I styled my hair. I put on make-up. I made two version of my reference list. I brought along a pair of high heeled shoes and a jacket to wear. I even made my lunch and had time to stop for coffee on my way to work. I took 2 hours off at the end of the day, made my way across town, debated how much time to put into the meter and walked the half block to the office building, arriving 5 minutes before the scheduled time.

As we were nearing the end of the interview, an alarm type sound started. The interviewers looked at each other, and then continued asking me questions. A few minutes later, someone was knocking on the glass walls, motioning us to leave the room. That alarm type sound?

It was the fire alarm.

We started down the 5 flights of cement stairs.

Did I mention I was wearing cuffed pants and 4 inch heels?!

No?!

Have I ever told you about the time I fell flat on my face while walking to the reception desk at one of my former jobs because my heel got stuck in the cuff of my pants?!

No?!

Well, i just did. And I didn’t feel like reliving that experience this afternoon. Except this time it would have involved cement stairs. And, I’d probably still be in the ER instead of writing this post.

So, 2 flights down, I stopped, remove my heels, and took the remaining stairs in my stocking feet.

In the lobby, I jammed my feet back into my heels, and proceeded to huddle with all the employees across the street while the fire trucks continued arriving.

We shared umbrellas. In the dark. In the pouring rain.

I’m not sure, but I think we took a hiatus from the interview.

Unless discussing Whole Foods, nearby restaurants, and the Best. Winners. Ever. count as interview topics?

I kind of wish they did.

I’d ace that interview.

30 minutes later, we were allowed back into the building.

I didn’t need a mirror to tell me hair was a frizzy mess, my eyeliner was smudged and my jacket had had better moments.

And i still had to finish the interview by completing a written financial assignment.

I got back to my car 3 minutes after the meter ran out.

I had paid for 2 hours.

And, I missed my timeslot at the tire centre to have my winter tires installed.

There really isn’t anything else to say about this afternoon. Remind me tomorrow to tell you about the best bread my friend has ever eaten. Or maybe about the ginger cookies I made this weekend. Until then, I leave you with the remnants of my day…

nov 20.jpg

 

 

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 8:51 am

    “Have I ever told you about the time I fell flat on my face while walking to the reception desk at one of my former jobs because my heel got stuck in the cuff of my pants?!”

    BEEN THERE!! It used to happen to me all the time when I worked at the bank and had to dress nicely.

    Also, you should totally get the job for even being willing to stick around through all that.

  2. December 7, 2010 3:49 am

    haha, well did you get the job?! hysterical post

  3. DMCGirl permalink
    December 20, 2010 7:10 pm

    I know this is an older blog post, but how fun it was to read!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

