Skip to content

Why I need GPS

August 23, 2010

I pride myself on having a fairly well tuned sense of direction and have managed to not find myself accidentally driving up the Sea to Sky, or at the Peace Arch. Except for the one time I took a wrong turn going to Costco and ended up at Metrotown, I’ve done pretty well for myself.

Until today.

See, this thing called the Pacific National Exhibition just started, kicked off with a concert by Bryan Adams and the Beach Boys, much to my dismay because if anyone is going to share a stage with the Beach Boys, Uncle Jesse would be stop of the list. Actually, I don’t even know if Bryan Adams and the Beach Boys shared a stage, nor do I care to know, the whole idea is just ruining my memories of the Tanner family and all the Full House shenanigans.

Anyway, after getting stuck in PNE traffic on Sunday morning, and watching all sorts of near horrific things occur, like families piling out of SUVs at traffic lights and 7 year old girls darting across 4 lanes of traffic and in front of oncoming traffic, you can well imagine I’d rather avoid that whole area.

Except, it’s kind of the only way I know how to get to work. So while I’m fairly confident the crazy rides don’t start at 8AM and I can sail on through to work, I have visions of 9 day traffic jams impeding my way home.

A smart person would consult google maps or something before heading out. Not me. Figuring I’d follow my same route but take a left well before the PNE and take Lougheed home. Easy enough, right?

Well, except at one of the lights I thought “Hey, so many people are turning left here, this must be a shorter route!” so I turned left and found myself driving through residential areas of North Burnaby and coming up against dead end roads.  So I did what any normal person would do… I found my way to Costco and bought a pair of $9 flannel pajamas. TOTALLY NORMAL.

Tonight was the night I was supposed to navigate my way to into downtown and take a Barre fitness class. I know you were all waiting with bated breath to hear of my adventures in ballet class. Unfortunately, unless I park at the same parking lot (ahem, again, another Costco, its a reoccurring theme) and walk to my intended destinations, I have no idea where to go and get all mixed up and would find myself driving down one way streets the wrong way.

Where was I going with this?

Oh right, there was this little issue of a Lady Gaga concert directly opposite the only parking garage I know.

Then, because apparently when you move to a big city you become obsessed with a) continually listening to traffic updates, b) checking the smog index and c) ensuring your car doesn’t get towed for the second time, I spent the commute from Costco home realizing that I had no clue how to navigate through the crazy traffic I was hearing about  and get to the fitness studio. Kind of a problem.

So, instead of finding myself stuck in a sea of gaga wannabes (in my mind I’m picturing people reusing their zombie costumes from Sunday, just with less clothing), I decided to stay home and bake this:

image (PS. If you haven’t found the “snipping tool” in Vista or microsoft 7, you are totally missing out, just sayin’)

Where did I find such amazingness?

image

Run, don’t walk to this gals food blog. An entire page dedicated to brownies? Don’t mind if I do.

Oh, and if you haven’t already… bookmark this and this. And visit often. Seriously. When have I ever let you down?! Oh, one last one (if only to see the pictures of last week’s swimming lessons. Seriously. GO!)

I’m too lazy to retype the ingredients:

image

I may have added coconut to the brown sugar/cocoa mixture because that’s how I roll (and because I’m currently obsessed with coconut.)

My kitchen looked like this:DSC01646Yes, I cook with my laptop near by. Is that a problem?! (Also, I’m shocked there wasn’t a glass of wine in the picture, how did that happen?!)

I just realized I haven’t posted pictures of my igloo. Maybe sometime this week I will, but just know, my new pajamas match the colour scheme:

DSC01650By the way, that is chocolate cobbler on my right toe.

The finished product:

DSC01652

Y’all are hastily making your plans to come visit me, aren’t you?

Disclaimer: Currently, reservations are booked through until mid-October, nor is it guaranteed food will be as pictured during your visit.

Ok, well, I’m going to go inhale this chocolate cobbler and give myself nightmares by reading “The girl who kicked the hornets nest” before bed. ‘night.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 3:45 am

    LOL! I am so glad I woke up to find this. I think you need a GPS too! Luckily I have one so I can find my way to your house for cobbler. 🙂

  2. Leah @ Why Deprive? permalink
    August 24, 2010 4:28 pm

    haha Vancouver traffic SUCKS! Thats why I never drive down there. Ever.

  3. August 24, 2010 6:36 pm

    Man, I salute you for even ATTEMPTING to drive in Vancouver. I cannot handle driving in that city!!

Leave a Reply

