Skip to content

My igloo

August 24, 2010

Sigh, if only my apartment came with such cute, fuzzy penguin!

The only rooms done right now are the bathroom and kitchen, but here is the before of the place, boxes and all…

Before kitchen and bathroom

If you haven’t gathered, I’m somewhat obsessed with Picasa’s create a collage option.

SO MUCH FUN.

And, yes, my place comes equipped with a chandelier. A small one, but a chandelier none the less.

I picked these two paint colours:

Those would be Ice Cube Silver and White Diamond for those of you staring at the paint chips thinking “Grey?”

Anyway, that’s why I call my place “The Igloo” because now it looks like this:

Bathroom:

DSC01595 DSC01594 DSC01596

All together now:

DSC01597 Missing from the picture are the floor mats.

One in white.

One in grey.

I know you’ve fallen off your chairs in shock.

Side note: It’s amazing what you can find at your local SuperWalmart at 11PM at night and when scavenging around in the office section of Ikea:

DSC01593All of that turned into the bathroom and kitchen decor.

Kitchen:

DSC01598  I’m pretty excited about my Brita water filter, not going to lie.

DSC01599 I found the steel and grey shelving in the storage room and pulled it out to the kitchen to make an island of sorts. The jars on the top shelf hold baking supplies, grains, rice and the best granola ever.

Grey and white dishes, again, I know you’re shocked.

Also shocking, red wine. See, I accented in some colour 😉

DSC01600 Look! A clear jug with GREEN straws!! Colour! And, peeking from behind the coffee maker, a RED mug!! Also, behold my new BFF, the dishwasher,

Whatever, even my jackets hanging by the front door know the score:

DSC01601

The view from the rest of the house:

DSC01602

Attractive, right?! Well, except for now the boxes are all away, the recycling has been taken out, and the bookshelf put against the wall. Not quite such a hot mess. I still do have the air mattress inflated from Sherri’s visit this weekend though. It’s kind of comfy. I’ve already had a nap or two on it this week. Not going to lie. Who needs furniture when you have an inflatable air mattress to sit on?!

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, this is what my kitchen looks like on a normal day:

DSC01604

I’m not sure who this new cleaning nazi is either. I’m sure my mother is rejoicing though.

So, things to keep in mind when visiting:

Wear grey or white.

Red and black accessories only.

Even your outerwear must follow the colour coded rules.

Unless you are my blackberry, in which case, purple is an acceptable colour.

Compliment me on my choice of comfy “furniture.”

And watch out for the chandelier, it likes to hit you in the head.

 

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Leah @ Why Deprive? permalink
    August 25, 2010 12:04 pm

    I LOVE that sink in your bathroom!

  2. August 25, 2010 5:02 pm

    From someone who is HOOKED on black and white: I feel you.

    I may or may not think it’s totally normal (and necessary) to make it a requirement for all of my guests to wear black or white to my wedding.

    My mother said I “can’t do that.” WTF it’s MY wedding??!

    I have one pair of gloves I saved in the move and they are red – perfect!

  3. August 25, 2010 6:53 pm

    Your place is SO NICE! I love it! And you get to paint? LUCKY! (You are renting right? Or did you buy??) I have always rented and NEVER been able to paint. It’s sad!

Leave a Reply

