Skip to content

Things I discovered today

August 25, 2010

They* say you should learn one new thing per day. Based on today’s events, I shouldn’t have to learn anything new until March 28th, 2013. And since I’m the giving sort, I thought I’d pass along a sampling of some of the new things I’ve learned. I’m sure it will serve you well.

* I’m not sure who “they” are, but they sound more knowledgeable than I, so we’ll roll with it.

1) When your hairdryer mysteriously goes on strike 2 out of the past 3 mornings, it might be time to think about buying a new one. Lest you find yourself googling “will wet hair in a ponytail all day go moldy.” What did I learn from researching this important topic? Well, nothing as I didn’t find a definitive answer.

2) On the day you arrive at work with wet hair in a messy bun, you’ll find out 2 hours later that you’re required to join an official site visit/tour. Oh, and then, as you’re leisurely eating your lunch 45 minutes before the scheduled visit, you’ll be informed the time you were told was incorrect, and the tour is in fact in 15 minutes. And, it’s 31 degrees outside, and we’re not in the shade.

3) Site visits involve walking. Wedge sandals, while perfectly fine for the 99% of my office life, are not recommended for navigating forests, sand, grass, and really old wooden staircases. For future reference I shall stash a pair of flip flops (summer) and rain boots (winter) under my desk.

4) College football players do not resemble Tom Brady. Not even one teeny bit.

5) I used a pen today that is like the adult version of “Leap Frog.” I had not a clue how to use it. In my defense, I haven’t mastered Leap Frog yet either.

6) The turf is surrounded by a track. A track that could be used for speed work. Or more precisely, a track *I* could use for speed work.

7) A professional soccer team trains on one of the fields. I’m not sure why I’m including this, but it was something *new* I learned 😉

8) I discovered a “I must make this as soon as humanly possible, or when I have 5 hours to devote to baking, whichever comes first recipe”: homemade chocolate peanut butter twix, and then spent the rest of the day debating whether to add a layer of caramel to the twix sticks or not, how would one go about making vegan caramel, and then remembering “Wait, I’m not vegan.” Although if I’m going to make a vegan recipe, I’m going to make a vegan recipe.

9) I’ve spent the past 5 minutes debating if vegan in the above paragraph should be “vegan” or “Vegan.” And yes, you can make vegan (Vegan?!) caramel.

10) I didn’t actually learn anything in #9, that is just me being a grammar and spelling nerd.

Oh, and I want this outfit:

It’s grey. Shocking.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 9:10 pm

    March 28, 2013 will be our 5th year wedding anniversary! Sorry. That was entirely self-absorbed and random 🙂

    Also, I have to admit, 31 degrees sounds like heaven right now!

  2. August 25, 2010 9:34 pm

    And why may I ask are there no photos of you traipsing through the forest in wedges? You readers require visual proof of such hilarity. And soccer players.

  3. August 26, 2010 11:38 am

    I want that outfit too! I have learned that we even have the same taste in clothes!

  4. August 29, 2010 7:20 pm

    Cracking up. Especially at the “moldy” bit. One day? Probably OK. One year and obscenely thick hair? Probably a problem.

    I want that outfit. In black. Also shocking. And appropriate for the igloo.

Leave a Reply

