Skip to content

Pizza success!

August 28, 2010

The classy way to roll out the dough:

DSC01670 This was my coworkers genius suggestion to my not having a rolling pin. Then I found out many others use this method as well. Obviously, we are all geniuses. Or we love wine 🙂

Amazingly people, this is a full bottle of wine:

DSC01672Yes, the wine is called Timbuktu. It’s pretty tasty. And yes, I totally base on my wine purchases on the label and the name. That’s about as wine snobby as I get.

Rolled out the dough, placed it on my stone bakeware.

Layer 1: Ricotta mixed with minced garlic, salt and pepper.

I mince my garlic in this little thing, a garlic press crossed with a hotwheels car:

http://0.tqn.com/d/housewares/1/0/e/H/GarlicZoomXL.jpg

Zoom, Zoom!

I may spend more time than I should zooming this around my countertop.

Second layer: grated zucchini (pressed in paper towel to take away the moisture), shredded mozzarella, salt and pepper.

Add some crushed chili peppers to the top.

Ready for the oven:

DSC01674 Baked for 25 to 30 minutes. The whole recipe is found here.

I failed to take a picture of it after baking because I was running late. Ooops! Sorry!

It was really good!

Well, truthfully, no one was eating it to start with, and I thought I’d managed to mess up somehow. And then someone picked up a piece, ate it, and almost fainted in delight. Although, I didn’t know it was in delight, so I was concerned for a moment that I’d poisoned her. Thankfully, that wasn’t the case. In fact, turns out she’s a caterer, and she wanted me to tell her the recipe so she can add to the menu of an upcoming event. Pat on the back for ME!

Instead of telling her the recipe, I just told her to check out Eat, Live, Run. So much easier! And then someone else wanted the recipe, and then a third… I think it’s safe to say we have a winner 🙂

In other news:

Sorry Sbux, today I was introduced to a new coffee place. It has stolen my heart.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/rios-enriquez/4250407646/

Seriously.

Am. In. Love.

Did I mention there is one 5 blocks from my house?!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 6:11 am

    Your pizza looks fab! 🙂 Looks much more appetizing than overnight oats…ahem.

  2. August 29, 2010 8:53 am

    JJBean coffee is by far the best coffee ever! I used to drink it always when I worked on Granville Island… Wish they had it on the island! Pizza looks delish!

  3. August 29, 2010 10:03 am

    I’ve been wanting to make that pizza ever since Jenna posted it, looks 100% amazing!

  4. August 30, 2010 1:16 pm

    When I made it it had kind of a bland taste to it. Maybe I didn’t use enough spice?? I had zucchini and ricotta left over afterwards so I made it again later in the week, just on small pitas, and added some extra garlic and it definitely tasted better and more flavorful. Overall I really liked it!

    • August 30, 2010 1:36 pm

      Hey- Yeah, I think I used twice as much garlic as the recipe called for, and I put A LOT of chilis on top. Maybe that was the difference? Yesterday, since I too had leftover zuchini and ricotta, I mixed up a bit, added pesto and baked it on a mini flatbread. It was super delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

