Skip to content

Two right feet & Indian take out

September 1, 2010

Yesterday it rained. A lot. Like “this is a monsoon, is it ever going to stop? Where I have I moved?!” kind of never stopped raining kind of rain. Apparently it broke rain records.  Of course, I can’t find any of my closed toed shoes, I had to dig through boxes for an umbrella, and I hop-scotched over puddles all the way to my office.

Where I spent my day dreaming of these:

www.hunter-boot.com/

Hi, Hunter Wellington Jimmy Choos! Look at you!! And only look I shall, because you are selling for a RIDICULOUS amount of money. Perhaps if I lived in the  English countryside and roamed the fields of some stately manor, I would purchase you. The Manor would be named something snooty like ‘Sutton’ or  ‘Westhorpe’  or ‘Stanwick’ and I’d have to learn how to ride a horse. Although, I guess then I’d need riding boots, not rain boots…  (and I need to lay off watching shows set in England… or Gossip Girl NYC Upper East Side, either or…) In any event, I don’t live in the English countryside (or, cough, watch Gossip Girl, cough).

Instead, I live in an urban jungle and I  purchase boots that the nice people at Costco are selling, for approximately 1,000,000th of the price of the Hunter Wellies.

One slight problem:

DSC01691

In my obvious exuberance at finding rain boots, I walked out with two right feet.

Clearly, this is going to help me immensely the next time it rains.

Always fun explaining why you are returning items, but return I did, and now my rain corner is complete:

DSC01692 Two rain jackets, two umbrellas and a pair of boots. With my luck it won’t rain until March and I’d be okay with that.

Sidenote: I went to what must be the highest end Winners ever. I found a pair of $200 L.A.M.B stilettos. Are you joking me, Winners?! You are not Nordstrom. You aren’t even The Rack. Sit down and lower your prices. (Oh, and make sure you have my coveted duvet set in Queen next time I come shopping, kthx).

After such a stressful night of boot returning, I ordered take out. Since I’m clearly the only person in my neighbourhood not eating at one of the 1,274 restaurants in my area, I felt it was time to join the club.

DSC01690

Mmmmm…. well. It wasn’t the worst Aloo Gobi and Butter Chicken I’d ever had, and you can’t really mess up Naan, so…. thankfully there’s three more Indian places within blocks. Thank you UrbanSpoon for your existence. I enjoy that you tell me where I can find gluten friendly places, or the best brunch, or where I can pick up some cupcakes. Ever so helpful.

In other news, I’ve found a white wine I like. I know. You’re shocked. WHITE WINE?! I figured I should stick to the philosophy that white goes better with spicy foods.

 http://lastingerwine.blogspot.com/2008/09/mionetto-il-moscato.html

That totally isn’t my picture of the wine, I found it by googling, but it amuses me that it shows you need a beer opener to open this particular bottle of wine. And, to add to the obviously high end wine I was drinking, I didn’t feel like waiting until it chilled, so I put ice cubes in my glass.

Because, I’m classy like that 😉

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Leah @ Why Deprive? permalink
    September 2, 2010 9:58 am

    The rain was crazy eh? I ran in it. 🙂 It was fun!!

Leave a Reply

