Skip to content

Couches, couches everywhere!

September 7, 2010

I was going to show you pictures of mini donuts, crazy rides and perogies from the PNE, but I can’t find my camera, so I thought I’d share the other fun and exciting thing I did this weekend…

High on up on the list entitled “You know you’re an adult when…”, I am confident you will find “spending hours of your long weekend trapped in home furnishing showrooms, channeling your inner Goldilocks and uttering phrases like ‘This one is too hard’, ‘this is one too soft’, ‘this one has too many pillows’”.

You’d think it would not be that difficult to find a condo sized, grey, modern sofa. You’d be wrong.

So, I escaped furniture stores for the PNE on Saturday, and on Sunday I broke down and finally got  a TV, so I’m currently living the ultra fabulous life of watching crack Modern Family on a flat screen while lounging in a camping chair. Because I’m classy like that.

However, I have uncovered some gems while trolling Craig’s list, and it really is only fair I share such fabulous finds with you. Just in case you’re looking to redecorate. We might have to fight for a couple of these.

Remember when Aztec design was fashionable? Yah, me neither.

The ad for the couch reads “Make the magic happen”… um, ew?!

image

Perhaps you’d rather some leopard:

image

PS. They will deliver it for an additional $25. Seriously. Just put it on the curb.

Hi, The 1980’s called, they’d like their pastel colours back please:

image

I also enjoyed the $4,000 couch that was “priced to move”… are you kidding me? 4 thousand is priced to move?! Really?!

And then I found an ad selling a “vintage” 1980’s coffee table:

imageWhen did the 80’s become vintage?! Also, look at that carpet!!!

This really is a depressing way to spend a Tuesday night. Although it’s currently pelting buckets of rain, so I’d rather be in here looking at furniture train wrecks than be outside.

Oh and I made this for dinner:

http://canyoustayfordinner.com/ Well, not that exact picture, but close enough. My newest food obsession, canyoustayfordinner.com, seriously, so good. Bookmark it and drool over it with me. Please.

You know, this might be why I haven’t found a couch I like yet… I keep getting distracted by Italian Butter Cream Frosting, Crack brownies, and Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies. Perhaps if there was a furniture store a la Candyland, and sold couches made of marshmallow pillows and chocolate chip cushions, I’d have found what I’ve been searching for?!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 3:38 am

    You HAVE to make the crack brownies… so good.

  2. September 8, 2010 6:51 am

    Thanks so much for the shout out and for trying the recipe! You really made my day!!

  3. Leah @ Why Deprive? permalink
    September 8, 2010 10:21 am

    hahaha sometimes I type $50 in the max price and just browse furniture for fun. The crap people actually think they can SELL is hilarious. The best part is that someone will actually buy it.

  4. Hillary permalink
    September 8, 2010 8:06 pm

    haha those pics are great. Umm I think my boyfriends mom still has that same pastel couch. Not even kidding!! She even has matching chairs.

  5. Cat permalink
    September 16, 2010 4:35 pm

    That is one of my biggest peeves. I often search ‘antique’ or ‘vintage’ on Craigslist, and end up finding the biggest pieces of crap from 1979 and 1982 that people are trying to sell as ‘antique’ HATE that…..

Leave a Reply

