Skip to content

Dial Up Internet

September 8, 2010

I’m currently sitting on the ferry trying in vain to ignore the most annoying man ever sitting behind me. He keeps KICKING the seat, and his voice is like fingers on a chalk board. Even his companion is bored of his talking, saying only “Mmmm…” for the past 28 minutes. Not that I’m counting or anything.

Except, if I’m typing this on my laptop and surfing the internet at the same time, that means that there is a magical princess fairy and she’s waved her internet wand over the ferry and, voila, the ferries now have internet.

So, that’s something at least. Even if it’s as slow as my parents dial-up connection circa 1997.

Remember those days?

Yeah, I try and block it out too. And the hairstyle I had. And the dress I wore to graduation.

Moving on.

Tee hee, the annoying man read my comments over my shoulder and left, but the new seat people are discussing how you can’t get to Saltspring Island from Vancouver Island. HA. Oh tourists. You crack me up.

Anyway, here are a few pictures from my new neighbourhood for you to enjoy, taken obviously on a day where the rain stopped and the sun decided to come out and play…

DSC01679 

Sunflower lane

DSC01680 

Yes, that house has red polka dots. Their door does not. Yet I feel compelled to sing “the polka dot door” each and every time I pass by the house.

The house also has a sign asking their neighbours to “please turn off your televisions,” Whhhaaaaat?! Why?! No TV? that’s tragic. Glad the house isn’t on my block.

DSC01677 DSC01678

DSC01676 This is apparently how you reserve a parking spot on a PUBLIC road. Because the extra 5 feet to walk to your door is going to kill you?!

DSC01687 Besides the “No Parking” signs, this is my second most hated sign.

I hate these signs as much as I despise cabbage and Brussel sprouts.

What does this sign mean, you ask?

Well, it means streets randomly look like this:

DSC01681 DSC01682

Forcing you to drive ‘round and ‘round in circles trying to extricate yourself from the area.
I actually cringe and yell “Nooooooooooooo!!!!!!” when I see this a far off:

DSC01684 DSC01685

I’m not going to tell you how many hours I’ve lost driving in circles thanks to these stupid calming areas. And, FYI, they don’t show on Google maps OR GPS navigations. See, they are the devil.

By the way, taking pictures while running makes the whole exercise component to the outing seem more bearable (more bearable? does that even make sense?!) somehow, until you get home, transfer your pictures and find a lot of these:

DSC01702

Mmmmm… I really can’t explain that.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 9:35 am

    How can people who love polka dots hate TV’s? I don’t get it?

    LOVE the sunflowers. We have ONE in our backyard and clearly it is not enough.

Leave a Reply

