Skip to content

You may be a shopaholic if…

September 12, 2010

You may be a shopaholic if…You enter a TJ Maxx, flip through the racks of dresses, pull of 5 from the rack and announce “Winners has this dress for $10 less, this dress for $15 less and had this, this and this 3 months ago.”

Just in case you think shopping across the border saves you money. It doesn’t.

It does however allow you to choose between 115 different silver/pewter coloured handbags and not find one you love.

The Target closest to the border will be the most over picked Target you’ve ever seen, and instead of having 4 pairs of boots follow you out the door, you will have none. Because they are in every size BUT the size of your feet.

You know what will follow you home?

DSC01757

No, don’t adjust your screen.

They are gold.

With flowers.

And they sparkle.

I can’t explain.

I really, really can’t.

Nor do I want too.

You know the cheapest place to stock your supply of hot peppers is Costco.

DSC01750

And that Costco sells maple syrup for less than Trader Joe’s.

And, clearly, you need 4 different types of vinegar:

DSC01759

Honestly, I can’t explain that either.

Four?! Really?!

No wonder my bags were so heavy.

A bottle of pink Himalayan salt almost ended up in the cart, because it was

a) PINK HIMALAYAN and

b) ONLY $2,

and then I remembered:

I don’t like salt

And, I’m not going to like it, whether it be pink, blue, white, rock, Aztec, Himalayan.

Small detail.

Who doesn’t purchase 4 different types of Greek yogurt, and is still annoyed that their favourite kinds weren’t available?!

DSC01752 

Why do I know the brand names of 6 different producers of Greek yogurt? WHY?!

I can’t remember where I put my keys, but I can yogurt brands?! Seriously?!

I need a hobby.

Until I find something more productive, I’ll munch my way through these:

DSC01756

Because along with having 5 kinds of yogurt, I also have 9 types of cheese.

10; if you count the container of Ricotta.

11; if you count the two blocks of (identical) Goat’s Cheese.

I have issues.

I also have 5 different kinds of hummus, but that’s a story for another day…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2010 8:43 am

    I LOVE those shoes!!!!
    I’m just about to post a new recipe that has vinegar in it if that helps you (take it one Tablespoon at a time, girlfriend).
    In my unemployment stupor, I’m finding I’m moving a little more towards shopping than the scrimping I was doing at the beginning. I justified it as “Back-to-School” which it sorta was.

    So far I’ve stayed away from TJs until our pantry is looking a little more sparce.

  2. Leah @ Why Deprive? permalink
    September 13, 2010 9:04 am

    Is it bad that I dont think you got too much cheese? And I can totally justify 4 different kinds of vinegar. They all taste VERY different, and variety is important.

  3. September 13, 2010 2:31 pm

    I love catching up on your blog because each post just sends me into a fit of giggles.

    Seriously, though? Four different kinds of vinegar? I think I could go my whole life without ANY vinegar (shows you how much I cook).

    Also, sad times about your Target. That is just not right. Don’t they know all you crazy Canucks hop the border and things NEED to be stocked?? Crazy Americans.

  4. September 14, 2010 2:12 pm

    4 vinegars in a minimum in my opinion. I just looked to see what I have and they included white vinegar, rice vinegar, balsamic, red wine, white wine, and a reduced balsamic vinegar. The last because God forbid me take the balsamic I already have and reduce it myself. Now to the gold sparkly floral shoe I am concerned for you on that purchase lol

  5. September 15, 2010 4:03 pm

    I love that you drive to the states for trader joes and yogurt. I do it too! The last time I went down I spent 40$ on yogurt at Whole Foods. It was so worth it, except it resulted in a Siggi’s addiction that just cannot be fulfilled… I need to drive to Seattle again.

Leave a Reply

