Skip to content

Four Musketeers

October 3, 2010

I ran into the store for paper towel and came home with the four musketeers.

DSC01782

Kabocha

Spaghetti

Acorn

Butternut

Other than the Spaghetti, I have no idea how to cook these…

This week I shall learn

Plus, you can’t beat paying $2.56 for them all

They are so cute

I feel badly for wanting to eat them

Maybe I’ll just let them hang out for a bit

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 4:48 pm

    Roasting is going to be your friend. I know with the spaghetti and the acorn, you roast them cut in half, face down. I usually have water surrounding my spaghetti but not my acorn. Acorns you turn over during the roasting and that’s when you can fill the center with butter, maple syrup etc. My husband’s cooked our Kabocha but I think you can check Heather’s site (Heather eats almond butter) for MANY Kabocha recipes. I actually just reran a soup one today. I’ve never cooked a butternut but I’d bet it’s similar to Kabocha. Have fun and yummy eating!

  2. October 3, 2010 7:31 pm

    I went to the farmer’s market specifically for squash yesterday and found that they wanted like NINE DOLLARS for one (decent sized, but still!) spaghetti or butternut. I left and went to RootCellar where I got one of each for $1 each. 🙂

    Make butternut soup…it’s super easy…mostly just needed a blender and some cream. Enjoy!

  3. October 3, 2010 11:07 pm

    Your friend, the spaghetti musketeer, has been hacked several times in my kitchen, doused with pesto and mixed with pine nuts.

    Apparently it’s the only thing I know how to cook. And I am obsessed.

  4. October 4, 2010 9:05 am

    I would totally buy those because they are cute and then not have any idea how to cook them. In my house, they would sit there for a while and most likely be rotten before I know what to do with them. Good luck! 🙂

  5. October 4, 2010 11:33 am

    I am yet to buy any squash this fall! Must get on that!

  6. Leah @ Why Deprive? permalink
    October 5, 2010 6:55 pm

    I love squash so much, I was so devastated when Superstore didnt have any this week (or last). I mean really . . . what the hell?
    You should totally make apple and butternut squash soup. Its so good that instead of putting it in the fridge I just stand there and ladle it into my mouth. 🙂

Leave a Reply

