Skip to content

My baking PSA

October 20, 2010

I feel like this is my public service announcement to all those people, who in the past week have said “well, I guess you won’t be baking anymore”.

Ha.

You thought wrong.

I obsess about the food blogs I read. “When can I make that?” “Hmmm… I hate pumpkin, I wonder how I can de-pumpkinize that recipe?” “What in green-eggs-and-ham is a chia egg?” “Seriously, 16 (!!!)tablespoons (!!!!) of butter in those cookies?! and, the ever popular, “I need to make this now, RIGHT NOW!”

Side note: pumpkinize should be a word.

Also, I feel like a pumpkin today as I’m wearing this, the LEC Heritage Cardigan in Orange Spice.

 

If I’m already wearing pumpkin, I’m afraid that by next fall I’ll be eating pumpkin. Ugh.

So, as per usual, I spent inordinate amounts of time drooling over Angela’s blog, decided to adapt the topping recipe for dinner. Bonus, not only does it make your house smell AMAZING, the recipe managed to use up all the “almost done, if you don’t do anything with this in the next day, you will need to throw it out” produce in my house. And, because I haven’t figured out how to make pizza crusts yet, I use it as a topping over spaghetti squash.

DSC01878

I also made vegan parmesan cheese, which shocking, to a skeptic like me, actually tastes like parmesan. Who knew?! I liked this combo so much, I ate it again over a sweet potato for lunch. Of course, this probably had more to do with the fact I overslept and grabbed the first things I could find, but they worked surprisingly well together.

Continuing my stalking perusing, I spotted these. Healthy Strawberry Oat Squares with Homemade Jam

I think we’ve all learned by now I have issues following direction and the thought of me making homemade jam makes me laugh out loud. Although, never say never because I swore I’d never succumb to the skinny jeans craze… and my online shopping order arrived yesterday and now a pair of skinny jeans are mocking me from their perch atop my dining table. So, stranger things have happened.

DSC01886

You can get the full recipe here, but my substitutions: A combination of Buckwheat, quinoa and brown rice flours for the 1 cup of whole grain Kamut flour, soy free Earth Balance instead of regular and Trader Joe’s all natural fruit preserve in raspberry instead of strawberry jam.

Verdict: You can’t seriously just eat one. Even if my first attempt yielded a super crumbly base. I have to work on that. Angela suggested using Bob’s Mill Gluten Free baking flour. I haven’t seen that yet in my stalking of the baking aisles.

DSC01889

And, yes, when I’m in doubt, I email the recipe maker. It’s kind of like the time I try to cook a roast beef, almost had a meltdown and end up calling Cooking 911 (aka Mom). Might was well ask the Master.

I took a couple oat bars to work, where a coworker couldn’t eat just half.

I consider that a win.

Now, you’ll have to excuse me, I’m off to wear my skinny jeans and Uggs.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 8:29 pm

    I love her blog to help with recipes. I also love simply gluten and sugar free. Helps with gluten free baking.

  2. October 31, 2010 6:37 pm

    i did the SAME THING about skinny jeans. no no no no no no -oh wait. these make my butt look good…….

Leave a Reply

