Skip to content

TV dinners

October 21, 2010

I’m a little annoyed with a cable TV right now. I mean, I have a zillion channels, but when I actually want to watch TV, there isn’t anything good to watch. Sure, there’s the odd night, like Thursday, which is more like that never ending traffic jam in China.

My head hurts just thinking about which show to watch. For real. And then there is Monday night, all boring since I’ve fallen out of love with the train wreck that is Gossip Girl, and the Big Bang Theory is now one of those little specks in the aforementioned traffic jam.

On one of these ghost town TV nights, I found myself watching a rerun of Friends, back when Brad was married to Jen and he showed up for Thanksgiving dinner. Obviously we’re on a first name basis 😉

Which made me think about turkey dinners, and how the turkey is my least favourite part of the meal. Aside from the pumpkin pie, that is. I could quite happily subsist on all the side dishes—the stuffing, the gravy… the mashed potatoes.

And that is how I found myself in the kitchen making mashed potatoes for no apparent reason at 9 at night.But, not just any mashed potatoes, I was convinced I could replicate my mom’s baked mashed potatoes without the 5,000 calories of added goodness (that would be the milk, grated cheddar cheese and the cream cheese, in case you’re wondering. Oh, and butter, lots of butter).

Base recipe: OSG’s High Protein Garlic Mashed Potatoes.

Follow that recipe. Don’t follow me, or you’ll end up adding too much paprika and turning your potatoes red.  To the mixture, add Daiya Cheese.

I keep reading the ingredients on the bag  and trying to figure out how a bunch of flours and some oil end up tasting like cheese.  How is the possible?! I feel like showing up at their factory and asking for a tour.

I’m not confident they’d let me in.

DSC01895 Place the potatoes in a Pyrex baking dish, add a little butter to the top, with a couple pinches of salt, pepper and paprika. Pop in the oven for 30 minutes.

DSC01903 Ok, that’s a really bad picture, but trust me, they are really good. Really, really good.

Even if you’re eating them as a midnight snack.

Of course, as they were bubbling away in the over, it dawned on me…. I could have just caught up on the shows log jamming my DVR.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Leah @ Why Deprive? permalink
    October 21, 2010 7:20 pm

    Those potatoes look awesome!

    Also, aren’t you glad for the awesome tv lineup tonight? I have a post it stuck to my fridge with times and channels so I don’t miss anything. 🙂

  2. October 31, 2010 6:33 pm

    i also recently watched that episode, as I was participating a two week long seasons 7-9 marathon every evening.

    i had to take care of my ankle, you know. and that means laying in my bed LLOL and reciting the best lines.

Leave a Reply

