Skip to content

Friday Favourites

October 22, 2010

I received my first ever reader request! The request that involved asking me what some of my favourite food blogs are. That’s a pretty hard question since my google reader is kind of like my shoe closet;  chaotic, crowded and about 10 pairs for every occasion.

I have a pretty long list, but I thought I’d pare it down to the 5 that have gotten the heaviest rotation in my kitchen this past month. I’ve also included the most recent recipes I’ve made from their blog and what I’d what I’m making next:

Can You Stay For Dinner

Based on her tales of grocery shopping, we should never be allowed to shop together. EVER.

Made:  Spicy garlic sauce, Cilantro lime chicken, and before I found out I was allergic to beef, the steak & cheese with peppers, onions and mushrooms.

Up next : Falafel burgers, vegan black bean burgers, Pho (even if you don’t make the soup, read the post.)

Oh She Glows

Where I learn things like what is nutritional yeast and how to make a chia egg 😉

Made: What haven’t I tried? In a jiffy spelt burgers, high protein garlic mashed potatoes, easy garlic scape pesto

Up next: these fries will change your life, crackers

Peas and Thank you

Nothing cuter than the Pea Family 🙂

Made: zucchini quinoa lasagna, Yukon gold potato & white bean basil burgers, cookie dough sarahbars

Up next: Italian wedding soup (off to Trader Joe’s for the ingredients this weekend!)

Eat Live Run

Taught me how to poach an egg & has squash tutorials! Seriously, I had no idea how to poach an egg until this year.

Made: linguini with shrimp and tomato cream sauce, cheesy zucchini pizza, lazy girls blondies

Up Next: Meringue kisses (I think they would make an awesome hostess give, so, I’m going to make them tomorrow.)

How Sweet It is

I end up with the James Taylor song in my head every time I visit this site 😉

Made:  chocolate chip blondies, s’more brownies

Up Next: The blondies are now my go-to recipe to take to parties, slowing trying to figure out how to make her recipes gluten/soy/dairy free so that I can eat the treats too and not just make them for other people!

Others

Seriously I can’t just pare it down to 5 people! The other sites I stalk on a regular basis and make recipes from at least once per week: Savvy Eats and The Front Burner. Pretty sure I spent an hour just on Julie’s chocolate hazelnut spread post alone this week.

And in case you feel the need to make the most amazing cinnamon rolls, The Pioneer Woman (although I think that recipe is in her book…)

In case you need more… check out the GOOP from a couple weeks ago, Gwyneth is just like us, and loves her food blogs.

So, there you be, Anonymous Blog Reader, there is just 5 of the many, many food blogs I subscribe too!

Okay, fine, it wasn’t some random reader, it was my friend Carly. Hi Carly!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Leah @ Why Deprive? permalink
    October 22, 2010 10:00 pm

    Dont you just love food blogs? I have so much fun looking at all the pretty pictures. 🙂

  2. October 23, 2010 8:01 am

    Aaahh thank you so so much for the shout out!! I’m so glad to hear that the recipes turned out well and that you’re not scared away by my insanity! And I love the other blogs you mentioned! I hope you have a fabulous weekend my dear!!

  3. October 23, 2010 9:29 am

    Yum – I’m going to make that garlic sauce without the sugar. We already have all the ingredients!

  4. October 23, 2010 3:08 pm

    I am ACTUALLY laughing out loud at your last little itty bitty line there.

    Hahahaha.

    Moving on those are some of my favourites too! Love them all, we clearly have the same taste in Food Blogs. Except for “How Sweet it is” – never read that one. Going to check it out now though!

  5. October 31, 2010 6:21 pm

    i like that you are Canadian and put a u in everything. like favorite. and color.

Leave a Reply

