Skip to content

My First Dinner Party

October 24, 2010

I had my first dinner party at my new place on Saturday. I didn’t take any pictures of the main courses, but it was a mix of old recipes and new… I don’t suggest trying new recipes when you’re already stressed about having 4 guests.

The old: I used my old standby “Mr. Bowjangles” from Crazy Plates, with a few substitutions.

image The substitutions:

Homemade soy-less soy sauce. Yeah…. you read that right. Soy-less soy sauce. Thanks to Julie, a recipe was found online. You can find it here. And since I am the princess of substitutions, I used brown sugar instead of molasses on the “soy” sauce recipe. Meh, it’s not soy sauce, but it’ll do.

I also used brown rice pasta instead of regular, which was okay, but I kind of got distracted and may have overcooked it a bit. All the guests went for seconds, so I guess it wasn’t that bad…

And, because cheese makes everything better, the pasta was topped with either goat’s cheese (me) or feta (everyone else!).

The new:

image Taken from this month’s Cooking Light, and I didn’t use any pine nuts because they are more precious than diamonds. No, really, why are pine nuts SO expensive?!

Easy ingredients, although I could have added more citrus to the mix.

DSC01921

I ❤ Cooking Light.

The “seriously, WHAT was I thinking making meringue mere hours before my guests arrive” dessert:

DSC01916

Meringue Kisses from Eat, Live, Run

I’m pretty proud of myself… they came out pretty well, even though I checked them about every 5 minutes through the oven window….  and tiptoeing around my kitchen, afraid that one wrong touch near the oven would make the kisses come crashing down and I’d be serving meringue pucks.

Thankfully, that didn’t happen and my guests ate every single one.

DSC01913 

Yup, pretty proud of these kisses 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Leah @ Why Deprive? permalink
    October 25, 2010 7:11 am

    Those meringues look awesome!

    You should buy goat cheese at costco. They sell giant logs of it for $7.

    • May 7, 2011 12:34 pm

      At last! Someone who undresntads! Thanks for posting!

  2. October 31, 2010 6:16 pm

    the very idea of those kisses intimidate me.

    who am i kidding, the very idea of any kind of kisses intimidate me.

Leave a Reply

