Skip to content

Coffee causes sirens

October 28, 2010

I finally got around to using my coffee maker for all its intended purposes. For some unknown reason, I had a large amount of pre-ground coffee on hand, not just the beans, so until a few days I ago, I hadn’t actually used the built in coffee grinder. It probably would have been a smart idea to have done a trial run before setting the beans into the grinder, hitting the program button, and heading off to bed.

A trial run would have ensured that I wouldn’t have bolted out of bed at 6:45AM, slipped on the hardwood floor and almost made a face plant into my slippers, to what one would have believed was the sound of the evacuation sirens signaling the arrival of a tornado.

Not that I’ve ever beheld a tornado personally, I just watched the movie Twister more times that I probably should have.

 Of course, with the crazy amounts of rain that fell over the past couple of days, I guess it could have been signaling a flood?! Or, maybe a tsunami?! In any case, I bolted out of bed, took a few moments to realize it probably wasn’t some impending natural disaster, and then I spent another 15 minutes fuming in bed at the loss of those last few moments of precious sleep. I believe I may have even said “this better be the best darn coffee I’ve ever had.” As I am not a morning person on the best of days, to say I was annoyed would be putting it mildly.

So, trust me, when I tell you… Always do a trial run on your new kitchen appliances.

It beats the alternative.

*Also, the coffee was really, really good, and my house smelled extra coffee-y… so I guess it wasn’t soooo bad

One Comment leave one →
  1. Leah @ Why Deprive? permalink
    October 28, 2010 3:31 pm

    Crazy amounts of rain? This is NOTHING!! lol

Leave a Reply

