Skip to content

Sunday at Science World

November 1, 2010

Things I learned at the Body Worlds & the Brain Exhibit at Science World:

Do not smoke

The liver is about 5 times larger than I imagined

I know now where all my running injuries were located. My left leg is seriously messed up

If you lose a lung, lose your left one

The IT band looks like one of those exercise bands, just stretched down your outer thigh. And not green

Try to avoid being a coal miner

Obesity is not healthy

People with 6 toes like to donate their bodies to science after they die

I regretted eating those two pieces of bacon for breakfast approximated 5676 times while touring the exhibit

Cancer is bad

The spleen is not located anywhere near where I thought it was

I said "I need to go for a run" approximately 27 times in two hours

Alzheimer’s does crazy things to your brain. For real

"Eating for 2" is a ridiculous notion during the first 3 months of pregnancy based on the actual size of the baby

Just reading about our kidneys and their function made me have to pee

You need to pay attention to where you are standing when looking at the exhibits

Seriously, Sir, there is no need to stand and look up at the "lady in the yoga pose"

No need at all

Don’t smoke

Exercise more

Eat veggies.

The only two things that made me gag:

The cross section of what a constipated bowel looks like and

The cross section of the 300 pound obese person

Also, Science world, overall, is smaller than my childhood recollection

The Electricity Exhibit is the BEST!

Running in the giant hamster wheel is exhausting

It also makes you cry laughing.

Seriously, I could have played the games for hours

And, then just to put into practice everything I learned, I went home and ate two squares of gluten free brownies and didn’t go on a run.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 8:36 pm

    LOL! I bet your cross-section is adorable!

  2. Lauren permalink
    November 1, 2010 10:09 pm

    Worked on 11 cadavers for my undergrad. I got to “squish” the large intestine of someone who clearly enjoyed a full meal before they passed. It was really cool and kinda sick at the same time.

  3. Rachel permalink
    November 2, 2010 10:07 pm

    Love Science World – totally not just for kids.

    And that’s a pretty long list of stuff you learnt… were you taking notes at the exhibits or did you google when you got home? 🙂

  4. November 3, 2010 8:23 am

    I would have been at my hypochondriac finest at this exhibit.

    LOL @ the six toes people.

  5. Leah @ Why Deprive? permalink
    November 3, 2010 10:51 am

    I SWEAR Science World already had this exhibit. Im sure it was a little different, but it was totally the same. That makes sense right?
    Either way, I saw it a few years ago, SO cool! And not as creepy as you expect.

    • May 9, 2011 6:12 am

      I feel so much happier now I undresnatd all this. Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Running for Wine

Leave a Reply

