Skip to content

Tech issues

November 3, 2010

Mmmmm…. So I was going to write about how much I love my new laptop, given my current one is from the Paleolithic era and is dying a slow, painful death that has warranted more than one trip to the computer ER in the past 6 months.

But, really, the addition of a new piece of electronic gadgetry to my life has only made it more obvious that technology is not my friend.

Is. Not. My. Friend.

I have no clue how to use this laptop. Sure, it’s pretty. Like, really, really pretty. And it’s in my (new) favourite colour scheme: Igloo.

It even has a picture of a fruit on it. Who doesn’t like fruit?

Especially if the fruit is dipped in chocolate.

Not that my laptop will ever be near chocolate, there is now a 2 foot “no food or drink” zone around it.

I managed to figure out how to set up my email, but I can’t figure out how to download programs.

Like Tweetdeck.

And how to rid the bookmark bar of Yahoo, because… WHO USES YAHOO?! Seriously, my new laptop is stuck in the prehistoric days of internet search engines (aka 1998).

And, can someone please tell me how I can play Angry Birds on my laptop?!

Priorities, people. Priorities.

I was so frustrated at the new laptop that I resorted to doing the work I needed to get done on my old one. I think that angered it and it somehow telepathically caused a freak accident, wherein my crackberry bounced off the bed, hit the box in which the new printer is currently housed, and dropped to floor, rendering the display useless.

Some words were said, an alternative alarm clock was procured (I had to dig through my box of running gear to find my never used running watch), and a very early morning phone call to my wireless provider confirmed that yes, my warranty did indeed expire two weeks ago. YAY!

To recap… I’ve got a new laptop I can’t figure out how to use, an old one that’s dying, and a broken crackberry.

So, no, technology and electronic gadgetry are not my friends.

Excuse me while I go make some meringue kisses. And drink more wine.

And pretty much forget everything I learned at Science World.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 3:06 pm

    Gchat me and I’ll walk you through new laptop setup!

  2. November 4, 2010 6:25 pm

    Technology drives me crazy too. I’m so thankful for my husband and his computer savvy knowledge.

  3. Leah @ Why Deprive? permalink
    November 4, 2010 9:34 pm

    I am so bad with technology! And wouldn’t you just know, our tech guy at work hates me, so he won’t help me figure anything out. I swear, he made my computer slower than everyone elses out of spite.

Leave a Reply

