Skip to content

Macaroon Monday: My first attempt at making bread

November 7, 2010

I’m partaking in Macaroon Monday, which was started by Heather, Julie & Evan, to encourage people to try and make something new to them. They are attempting to make fancy french macaroons where as I decided to bake bread. I know, it doesn’t sound as exciting as those macarons… and, really, how hard could it be to make gluten-dairy-egg free bread? 😉

Stop laughing.

Like any good challenge, this required a lot of prep work… finding recipes, double checking pantry items, many trips to the store to locate items I had never heard of before. One night I spent 30 minutes standing in a 10 foot area of the Whole Foods baking aisle reading labels and attempting to understand all the different types of flour. The WFs employees were starting to worry for my mental health, given the amount of times they stopped and asked if I needed any help.

Attempt #1: Gluten Free Focaccia Bread

I probably should have realized there would be issues, when the first line of the recipe tells you to preheat the oven… an oven you won’t use for at least another 2 hours. I mean, really?!  I gathered all the items, including all my chicken scratches notes and a really gross Americano. I’ve decided I can’t cook without coffee. I’d rather it be wine, but it was only 2PM. So I choked down the coffee and got to work.

Nov 7.jpg

The final product… over a 3 hour period. Can you see the difference?

Nov 71.jpg

Yeah, neither could I. I waited for 3 hours before declaring defeat. Of course, if I had been called to come play an impromptu game of baseball, I’d have the perfect baseball to use, this dough was hard!

Attempt #2: Gluten Free Sandwich Bread

Of course I had to drag out all the alternative flours in my kitchen. Who doesn’t have 9 different kinds of non-gluten flour?

 

DSC01964-1.jpg

What? You don’t? Don’t worry, you can come borrow a cup or two from me. I’m currently keeping Westpoint Distributors in business. Got to support the local businesses, you know 😉

Alright… gather my notes, drink my coffee, read blogs, eat some potato chips, assemble the ingredients and get to it.

Nov 73.jpg

The dough doesn’t resemble regular bread dough, so I wasn’t sure if it was actually made correctly. I put the dough in the bread pan, covered it, said a little prayer and let it rise in the oven (not turned on). While I waited to see if this attempt would turn out, I spent the time figuring out what I am I going to make for my next dinner. The new Barefoot Contessa book is amazing… I can’t narrow down the choices!

Nov 72.jpg

Looooook!!! It rose!!! Happy dance ensued. My neighbours must think I’ve lost my  mind when I randomly started jumping around my kitchen and taking pictures. Popped the bread into the oven for 60 minutes and distracted myself with laundry as the house started to smell amazing…

DSC01989.JPG

 

I want to eat the whole loaf. Calories don’t count when you’ve baked it yourself? right?!

DSC01991.JPG

The only thing that could make this better would be wine. Oh wait… never mind, I have my glass right here!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 8:09 pm

    YUMMM! Nice job, that looks really good!

    I SUCK at making bread. It never rises properly when I make it. Eric on the other hand makes a killer loaf of white bread 😉 We are actually going to start baking all of our bread in order to save money!

  2. November 8, 2010 9:57 am

    So, while I haven’t had to tackle dairy-free, egg-free breads, I have taken my hand to a lot of gf breads/cookies if you want to talk shop ever.
    The best advice I ever got was find a basic gf flour mix that you like to use, and then just take your old recipes and substitute away (adding 1/2 t xantham gum for every cup of flour). I’m having a lot of luck getting extra lift in cookies by adding a milk-baking soda mixture to the recipes (I don’t know if almond milk would work in the same way but it would definitely be worth trying).

    Biggest tip when making gf bread – once it’s cool, slice and put whatever you won’t be eating right away in the freezer. Otherwise it stales really quickly. If you freeze it you can always toast it up for sandwiches or whatnot.

    I have a focaccia recipe that I absolutely love – it’s from Annalise Roberts’ Gluten-Free Baking Classics. I also have the Gluten Free Girl’s new cookbook on my wishlist.

    As you may have learned, Udi’s is a great GF company, but be careful because they do end up putting eggs in some of their products (their white bread for one).

  3. November 9, 2010 1:56 pm

    Yum! Homemade bread is the absolute best. I’m gluten-free, and I miss the warm bread they serve at Italian restaurants. I’ll have to try to make my own, too.

Leave a Reply

