Skip to content

French Fries

November 8, 2010

On our way out the door this afternoon, my coworkers were discussing the infamous McRib as one of them had taken a trip across the border to eat one. In my three years of working at the Golden Arches in high school, i don’t think i ever ate one or even saw a McRib. I remember selling a lot of #8 Value Meals, super sized with Diet Coke*but never a McRib. I don’t plan on eating one now, either, but the conversation did make me think of my favourite item on the menu.

The fries.

The salty, salty fries.

Thanks to our science experiments involving the cheese slices (you can’t melt those slices at all…no matter what you try!), and the nights we’d fling pickle slices on to walls and wait to see how long they’d stick (answer: forever. Or until the maintenance people cleaned the wall), I really could go the rest of my life without ever eating there again. But every so often, I think of the fries…

The whole way home I thought of french fries.

I walked into the door, glanced over onto my kitchen counter and…

DSC01993.JPG

Well, I found something to make with the japanese yam I bought last week.

Tossed with olive oil, TJ’s everyday seasoning and some cayenne spice. Maybe a little too much cayenne on some slices!

DSC01994.JPG

45 minutes later, I had a plate of white potato, sweet potato and purple yam fries…

DSC01999.JPG

Maybe next time I’ll make a McRib, or not.

Now excuse me while I go clean the pickle slices from my wall.

 

*in case you are wondering, Value Meal #8 was the Double Quarter Pounder Meal. Because, you know, when you get a double quarter pounder and super sized fries, the large Diet Coke really brings down the calorie count…

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. hikerchick permalink
    November 8, 2010 10:02 pm

    k….those look great!!! Sunday dinner perhaps??

  2. November 9, 2010 1:18 pm

    YUM! Those look good! Good for you for making your own fries instead of getting McD’s!

Leave a Reply

