Skip to content

Mmmmm…. chocolate and brown sugar

November 9, 2010

I’ve been meaning to make Mama Pea‘s Brown Sugar Bars for a few days now. In the name of being a fabulous coworker, I decided to make some and bring them into work for everyone to enjoy. Although, I kind of had an ulterior motive. Although, if we’re being honest, when I do not have an ulterior motive?

My motive was to find a recipe that I could make with regular flour and then with GF flour and see if there was any difference. I stuck to the recipe and only changed a couple items.

Batch one: Sub in regular chocolate chips for vegan. Add pecans.

Batch two: Sub in gluten-free flour and soy-free earth balance. Add pecans.

This recipe is seriously 5 minutes to prep, and here are the pans, side by side:

DSC01998.JPG

Batch #1 is on the left, Batch #2 on the right.

I didn’t use the same sized pan, as I don’t have two 8X8 pans, so Batch #2 is in a longer sized pan.

I think I am missing the gene that allows me to bake bars correctly. I never, ever get them cooked correctly and uniform. Drives me nuts.

After 30 minutes of baking, it was obvious only Batch #1 was going to work out. Batch #2 was super gooey and didn’t set properly 😦 I don’t know if it had to do with the pan, so I left it in a few minutes longer to bake, but still there was no change. I’m going to chalk it up to the different flour.

I’m sure everyone will enjoy the bars, I wish the second batch had worked out though!

DSC02007.JPG

 

 


One Comment leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 10:30 pm

    I hate when bakes goods don’t turn out. I always have such high hopes!
    These look ridiculous though. I obviously have to make them.

Leave a Reply

