Skip to content

Scenes from the inbox

November 22, 2010

*****************

From: Carly
To: Liane
Sent: Monday, 22 November, 2010 12:41:04

Okay – so not that I am complaining or anything but your blog has not been updated in over a week – are you alive???

What is going on???

*******************

Dear Carly,

Thankfully, I am not dead. However, I was sick last week, which resulted in a day spent on the couch watching Mean Girls and setting up a new website and domain name. If I haven’t already clued in, I’m so not tech savvy. I still have a lot of work to do with that before I can swap over to the new one. As in, I’m not even sure how to upload to the new site. Brilliant.

I made more of my cure all soup, which hasn’t really cured me at all and I brought it to work and shared it with friends and coworkers. I’m not sure if it cured their sniffles, but they are alive, so at least I didn’t poison them.

Oh, I also made potato soup. I have pictures and a half written post on that too. Maybe I’ll have it posted by February?!

I ordered snow tires, which seems like a really grown up thing to do and I managed to order them the day before it snowed. Of course, they haven’t arrived yet, and now that the snow is gone, it probably won’t snow again all winter. I’m confused why La Nina is bringing us snow and freezing temperatures if it’s from the tropics. I’d rather it bring sunny skies and pineapples.

Somewhere in the past week, I gave up cooking entirely, ate leftovers, and have a pretty pitiful fridge right now; its 90% condiments and 4 different kinds of hummus. Creating dinner should be fun. Maybe I’ll just make dough balls.

Over the weekend, I went to the Outlets north of Seattle and increased my sweater collection. I had to be dragged out of Costco before I bought more than two jars of $3 jalapeños. I also went to Trader Joe’s, which is why I have 4 different kinds of hummus in my fridge and not much else.

Last night, I experienced this for the first time:

Some of us escaped the beer fountain that was pouring from the row behind us, but had to contend with being elbowed in the chest region by their neighbours , and, of course, the Canucks lost. Why did we expect anything different?

They actually scored moments after I took this picture. It still didn’t help. And then they got a little testy and had to be broken up on the playground.

And, now it’s Monday, my fridge is empty, and I’m back at work. I think all weekends should be three days.

PS. I’ll try and keep the blog updated more often.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 1:41 pm

    I love you and your writing style in this post.

  2. November 22, 2010 3:16 pm

    Oh dont worry – the worst winter we’ve seen in 55 years is still coming. You’ll get to use those snow tires. Probably a lot.

  3. November 22, 2010 9:37 pm

    Yes! Definitely make the dough balls…they’re yummy…though, I guess you’ll have to stock your pantry first. And I definitely agree that every weekend should be 3 days. That would be so lovely! 🙂

  4. November 25, 2010 11:14 am

    I’m with Carly. Not complaining but glad you’re back.

Leave a Reply

